The University of Sydney Nano Institute

Leadership

Professor Susan Pond, a senior leader in business and academia, has been named the director The University of Sydney Nano Institute.

Sydney Nano is one of 10 Multidisciplinary Research Initiatives in the 2016-20 Strategic Plan that brings researchers from across the university together to solve grand challenges and was launched in April 2016.

The purpose-built $150m Sydney Nanoscience Hub provides a world-leading environment for scientists to design sustainable approaches to energy generation, storage and distribution; improve the detection, diagnosis and treatment of disease; and develop the next generation of information and communication technology to enable the knowledge economy. 

Our Leadership teams are divided into four categories as following:

Institute Leadership

Leaders Contact Details
Director, Sydney Nano

Professor Susan Pond AM

Email: susan.pond@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9114 2620

Chief Operating Officer, Sydney Nano

Dr Gunther Schmidt

Email: gunther.schmidt@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61  2 8627 5207

Mobile: +61 438 546 850


Theme Leadership

Theme Contact details 
Health and Medicine

Associate Professor Wojciech Chrzanowski  

Email: wojciech.chrzanowski@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9351 5306

Website: http://sydney.edu.au/pharmacy/about/people/profiles/wojciech.chrzanowski.php

Communications, Computing and Security

Dr Ralph Holz

Email: ralph.holz@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9036 9718

Website: https://sydney.edu.au/engineering/people/ralph.holz.php

Energy and Environment

Pending


Domain Leadership

Domain Contact details 
Quantum Science

Dr Ivan Kassal

Email: ivan.kassal@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 8627 5883

Website: http://sydney.edu.au/science/people/ivan.kassal.php

Nano-Photonics

Dr Stefano Palomba  

Email: stefano.palomba@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9351 5304

Website: http://sydney.edu.au/science/people/stefano.palomba.php

Materials on the Nanoscale 

Associate Professor Jun Huang

Email: jun.huang@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9351 7483

Website: https://sydney.edu.au/engineering/people/jun.huang.php

Molecular Nanoscience

Associate Professor Chiara Neto

Email: chiara.neto@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9351 2752

Website: http://sydney.edu.au/science/people/chiara.neto.662.php

If you have feedback about this staff intranet page please contact the site author, Staff Communications, by emailing intranet.admin@sydney.edu.au